School Management Committee

  Prof Johnnie Hay

   SPE School Director and Associate Professor
  +27 16 910 3143
  Johnnie.Hay@nwu.ac.za
  Building A16, Office 105, Vanderbijlpark
  BA, BA Hons Clinical Psychology, MA Clinical Psychology, HDE Guidance, PhD (Child Psychology)
  Education Support Services, Inclusive Education, student learning, Life Orientation, registered counsellor training, and emotional issues of learners.

  Prof Julialet Rens

  Deputy Director
  +27 18 299 1893
  Julialet.Rens@nwu.ac.za
  Building B10, Office G29, Vanderbijlpark
  BA (PU for CHE), HED (PU for CHE), BEd (PU for CHE), MEd (PU for CHE), PhD (NWU)
  Readiness of beginner teachers, Life Orientation and Life Skills as important school subjects and diversity and values as part of holistic development and wellness of school communities

  Dr Noorullah Shaikhnag

  Deputy Director: Mafikeng Campus
  +27 18 389 2043
  Noorullah.Shaikhnag@nwu.ac.za
  Building A2B, Office G69, Mafikeng


  Dr Andri Schoonen

  Subject Group Leader: Early Childhood Development and Education
  +27 18 299 1871
  Andri.Schoonen@nwu.ac.za
  Building B10, Office G37, Potchefstroom
  BEd Foundation Phase, BEd Hons in Learner Support, MEd in Learner Support
  Critical service-learning, social justice praxis, ECD

  Dr Lynn Preston

  Subject Group Leader: Education Psychology
  +27 18 299 4765
  Lynn.Preston@nwu.ac.za
  Building C6, Office 232, Vanderbijlpark


   Thabo Makhalemele

  Subject Group Leader: Learner Support
  +27 16 910 3075
  Thabo.Makhalemele@nwu.ac.za
  Building A17, Office 117, Vanderbijlpark Campus, Vanderbijlpark
  BAEd, BEd Hons, MEd, PhD
  Inclusive Education, Learner Support, Educational psychology

  Dr Lettie Botha

  Subject Group Leader: Life Orientation
  +27 18 299 4462
  Lettie.Botha@nwu.ac.za
  Building B10, Office G40, Potchefstroom
  BEd (NWU), BEd Hons (NWU), MEd (NWU)
  Life orientation; the impact of paternal absence on child development; intervention strategies to enable these learners to reach their full potential and improve their holistic wellbeing.

  Prof Dorita du Toit

  Subject Group Leader: Movement Education
  +27 18 299 1716
  Dorita.dutoit@nwu.ac.za
  Building B6, Office G01, Potchefstroom


  Mrs Skyler Pedro

  Deputy Subject Group Leader: Early Childhood Development and Education
  +27 16 910 3078
  Skyler.Pedro@nwu.ac.za
  Building A16, Office 135, Vanderbijlpark
  BEd Foundation Phase, Bed Honours (Learner Support)

  Dr Illasha Kok

  Deputy Subject Group Leader: Learner Support
  +27 18 299 2143
  Illasha.Kok@nwu.ac.za
  Building B11, Office G23, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  BSc (PU for CHE), HED (UNISA), BEd Hons (UNISA), MEd (PU for CHE), PhD (PU for CHE), BSc Hons (NWU), MSc (NWU), HPCSA Registered Psychologist.
  Distance Education, Teacher and learner wellbeing, Mental health, Open distance learning

  Dr Carmen Joubert

  Deputy Subject Group Leader: Life Orientation
  +27 16 910 3096
  Carmen.Joubert@nwu.ac.za
  Building A16, Office number 128, Mafikeng
  BPsych (NWU), MA (NWU), PGCE (NWU), PhD in Education Psychology (NWU)
  Perspectives on the contribution and role of NWU BEd Hons Learner Support alumni in terms of lay counselling in their school communities – and possible intervention strategies to extend this contribution.

  Prof Macalane Malindi

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 285 2016
  Macalane.Malindi@nwu.ac.za
  Building A16: Office 133, Vanderbijlpark


   Nomsa Mohosho

  ECCE Programme Leader and Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3573
  Nomsa.Moteetee@nwu.ac.za
  Building A16, Office 117 , Vanderbijlpark, Vanderbijlpark
  MEd
  Early Childhood Development and Education, Education Management and Leadership

   Ms Hantie Theron

  Grade R Programme Leader and Lecturer
  +27 18 285 2091
  Hantie.Theron@nwu.ac.za
  Building B11, Office G29, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  MEd Learner Support, BEd Hons Learner support, Pre-Primary Diploma, Junior Primary Diploma
  Support to preschool teachers with the accommodation of autistic toddlers in their classes. Using storytelling to develop toddlers' oral language skills