COMBER Exco

  Prof Lesley Wood

  Research Director
  +27 18 299 4770
  Lesley.Wood@nwu.ac.za
  Building B6, Office 261, Potchefstroom Campus

  Action research for lifelong learning and development in diverse educational contexts, HIV in education, social issues that impact on education.

  Prof Mariette Koen

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 285 2278
  Mariette.Koen@nwu.ac.za
  Building B11 – G09 Potchefstroom Campus
  PhD Psychology of Education (UFS), MEd Psychology of Education (UFS), MPhil in Higher Education (US); BA Hons (African Languages) (UFS), BEd Hons (Psychology of Education) (UFS), BA (Sesotho and Psychology III).
  Aspects that influence the holistic well-being of 0-9 years, including factors that can impact on the social, physical, emotional, psychological, cognitive and spiritual well-being of children in the early years.

  Prof Carisma Nel

  Professor
  +27 18 285 2639
  Carisma.Nel@nwu.ac.za
  Building B6, Room 102, Potchefstroom
  BA, BA Hons, MA, PhD, HED, DTE, A+Comptia
  Reading literacy; Reading literacy assessment/performance-based assessment; Work Integrated Learning for Teacher Education and Development; English Language learning

  Prof Julialet Rens

  Deputy Director
  +27 18 299 1893
  Julialet.Rens@nwu.ac.za
  Building B10 - Office G29, Potchefstroom Campus
  BA (PU for CHE), HED (PU for CHE), BEd (PU for CHE), MEd (PU for CHE), PhD (NWU)
  Readiness of beginner teachers, Life Orientation and Life Skills as important school subjects and diversity and values as part of holistic development and wellness of school communities

  Prof Kotie Kaiser

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 4747
  Kotie.Kaiser@nwu.ac.za
  Building C6, Room 207, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  BA, HDE, BA(Hons), MA, PhD
  ESL teaching and learning, LAC, Multilingual Pedagogies

  Prof Luiza de Sousa

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 4727
  Luiza.Desousa@nwu.ac.za
  Building C6, Office 105, Potchefstroom Campus

  School environmental management systems, systems thinking, transformative learning through environmental education, Geography Education, Social Sciences Education, Education for Sustainable Development in primary, secondary and tertiary education.

  Dr Carolina Botha

  Academic Coordinator: Work Integrated Learning
  +27 18 285 2869
  carolina.botha@nwu.ac.za
  Building B5 – Office G13, Potchefstroom Campus
  B.Sc (Psych), B.Sc Hons (Psych), H.E.D, MTh, PhD
  Work Integrated Learning, Teaching Practice, Socio-emotional Development of Student Teachers, Mentorship, Beginner Teachers, Emotional Readiness, Reality shock, Theory-practice divide.

  Prof Macalane Malindi

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 285 2016
  Macalane.Malindi@nwu.ac.za
  Building A16: Office 133, Vanderbijlpark, Vanderbijlpark


  Dr Thabo Makhalemele

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3075
  Thabo.Makhalemele@nwu.ac.za
  Office: Building 11A - 117 Vaal Campus
  BAEd, BEd Hons (Guidance & Counselling), MEd (Special Needs & Education Support Services), PhD (Learner Support).
  Learner Support and Inclusive Education.

  Dr Stef Esterhuizen

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3070
  Stef.Esterhuizen@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office 131, Vaal Campus
  PhD Teaching and Learning
  Improvement of teaching and learning practices of prospective teachers to promote cognitive development in children from birth to 9 years of age through play-based learning.

  Dr Irene Muller

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 82 850 7621
  12765074@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11 A, Office 108, Vaal Campus
  B Sc (Ed) Botany and Chemistry; B Ed Hons (Curriculum Development); M Env Man; Ph D (Projects & Management).
  PAR, social learning, citizen science and water quality monitoring in environmental education for sustainable development.