One of the main aims of UNESCO’s UNITWIN programme is to promote international cooperation and networking between universities and different UNESCO Chairs. In this regard, the NWU's UNESCO Chair on Multimodal Learning and OER has established links with the following individuals, institutions and UNESCO Chairs worldwide.


South African UNESCO Chairs
Prof. Moeketsi Letseka - UNESCO Chair on Open Distance Learning (ODL), Unisa, South Africa
Prof. Ruksana Osman - UNESCO Chair in Teacher Education for Diversity and Development, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

International UNESCO Chairs
Prof. Tel Amiel - UNESCO Chair in Distance Education, University of Brasília, Brazil
Prof. Per Bergamin - UNESCO Chair on Personalized and Adaptive Distance Education, Swiss Distance University of Applied Science (FFHS), Switzerland
Prof. Daniel Burgos - UNESCO Chair on eLearning, International University of La Rioja, Spain
Prof. Rory McGreal - UNESCO Chair in Open Educational Resources, Athabasca University, Canada
Prof. Wayne Mackintosh - UNESCO Chair on Open Educational Resources, Otago Polytechnic, New Zealand

External Collaborators
Mr Neil Butcher, OER Africa/NBA
Dr Sandhya Gunness, University of Mauritius
Ms Vandanah Gooria, Open University of Mauritius
Mr Erkkie Haipinge, University of Namibia, Namibia
Dr Dudu Jankie, University of Botswana, Botswana
Dr Mmabaledi Seeletso, Open University of Botswana, Botswana/UNISA

Further collaboration is done in the region through the Network of OER and Multimodal Self-Directed Learning in Southern Africa (NOMSA) as hosted by the NWU's UNESCO Chair.